## BOARD OF SUPERVISORS PROCEEDINGS

The Grundy County Board of Supervisors met in a regular session in the Supervisors room on June 10, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson Smith called the meeting to order, with the following members present: Nederhoff, Halverson, Schildroth, and Vandehaar.

The board opened the meeting by reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded Vandehaar to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Carried unanimously.

Gary Mauer, County Engineer, discussed department matters.

Gary Mauer introduced Marty Camarata as the new Maintenance Superintendent.

Motion was made by Vandehaar and seconded by Schildroth to approve low quote dated June 4, 2024, from Diamond Oil of Des Moines, Iowa for supplying 5,000 gallons of diesel at \$2.2918/gal and 3,000 gallons of gasohol at \$2.1502/gal at their delivery cost for the aboveground fuel tanks at the Secondary Road Dept. in Grundy Center. Carried unanimously.

Dan Hart, Agronomy Operations Manager, New Century Farm Service, discussed Bulk LP Storage Mound to Conrad, Iowa.

Motion was made by Schildroth and seconded by Halverson to approve the move of Bulk LP moved to Conrad location. Carried unanimously.

Nick Buseman, Conservation, discussed department matters including an update on the Pioneer Trail Gap near Reinbeck.

Motion was made by Nederhoff and seconded by Schildroth to approve the letter of support for grant request applied for by the Conservation Department in favor of the expansion of the Pioneer Trail and authorize chairperson to sign the same. Carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Vandehaar to approve the Cyber Insurance Proposal and application and authorize chairperson to sign the same. Carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Nederhoff and seconded by Schildroth to approve ICAP Member Proxy, Anniversary Acknowledgement and Commitment to Continue Membership and authorize chairperson to sign the same. Carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Nederhoff and seconded by Vandehaar to approve Resolution #53-2023/2024 authorizing additional disbursement of funds for the American Rescue Plan Act. The votes on the resolution were as follows: Ayes – Schildroth, Vandehaar, Halverson, Nederhoff and Smith. Nays – None. Resolution adopted. This description is a summary of said Resolution, the full text of which may be inspected at the Grundy County Auditor's Office, 706 G Avenue, Grundy Center, Iowa, on Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Schildroth to approve Resolution #54-2023/2024 Certification (Canvass) of Primary Election Results as follows: WHEREAS, the PRIMARY ELECTION was held as prescribed by law on June 4, 2024, and;

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors and ex officio Board of Canvassers have canvassed the vote of said election in accordance with §43.49 and §50.24 of the Code of Iowa, now therefore; BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that we, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors and ex officio Board of Canvassers of Grundy County, Iowa, do hereby certify the following

TURNOUT REPORT and RESULTS in the PRIMARY ELECTION, held June 4, 2024, and that

no obvious clerical errors were identified during the canvass.

Nine hundred and ten (910) people voted at the polls on election day.

One hundred and twenty (120) absentee ballots were accepted for counting. No (0) provisional ballots were accepted for counting (included in absentee total).

A total of one thousand and thirty (1030) people voted.

CANDIDATES NOMINATED FOR COUNTY OFFICES:

Republican Party:

Board of Supervisors: District 1: LJ Kopsa, District 3: Vic Vandehaar, District 5: Jeffrey A. Pabst

County Auditor: Alan T. Tscherter County Sheriff: Kirk A. Dolleslager

Libertarian Party:

Board of Supervisors: District 1: LJ Kopsa

COUNTY OFFICES WITHOUT A PARTY NOMINEE:

Democratic Party: Board of Supervisors: District 1, District 3 & District 5; County Auditor, County Sheriff

Libertarian Party: Board of Supervisors: District 3, District 5; County Auditor; County Sheriff.

Votes on the resolution were as follows: Ayes – Schildroth, Vandehaar, Halverson, Nederhoff and Smith. Nays – None. Resolution adopted.

Updates on various board and committee meetings were given.

There was a member of the community that asked why all the adopted resolutions were not on the county website. Auditor Tscherter apologized for the oversight. All the resolutions will be uploaded as soon as possible.

Motion was made by Vandehaar and seconded by Halverson to adjourn the meeting. Carried unanimously.

Barbara L. Smith, Chairperson

Alan T. Tscherter, County Auditor