BOARD OF SUPERVISORS PROCEEDINGS

The Grundy County Board of Supervisors met in a regular session in the Grundy County Annex Building on May 28, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson Smith called the meeting to order, with the following members present: Nederhoff, Schildroth, Vandehaar, and Halverson.

The board opened the meeting by reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Nederhoff to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Gary Mauer, County Engineer, discussed department matters.

Motion was made by Schildroth and seconded by Vandehaar to approve Resolution #52-2023/2024 to Amend FY2024 5-Year Construction Program. Ayes – Schildroth, Vandehaar, Halverson, Nederhoff, and Smith. Nays – none. Resolution adopted. This description is a summary of said Resolution, the full text of which may be inspected at the Grundy County Auditor's Office, 706 G Avenue, Grundy Center, Iowa, on Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Motion was made by Schildroth and seconded by Nederhoff to approve IDOT detour agreement request to use County Roads T53 and D35 for IDOT RCB Project No. BRFN-175-9(25)—39-39 and authorize chairman to sign said agreement. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Vandehaar and seconded by Nederhoff to approve final payment for Safety Improvement Project No. HSIP-SWAP-CO38(127)—FJ-38 for flashing solar beacons and rumble strip installations at T55/D35 and D17/Hwy 14 intersections and authorize the chairman to sign agreement. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Schildroth to approve final payment voucher to Iowa Plains Signing, Inc. of Slater, Iowa on pavement marking Project No FM-CO38(128)—5-38. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Nederhoff and seconded by Schildroth to approve changes to the personnel policy. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Vandehaar to approve the application for Fireworks Permit from Flashing Thunder Fireworks for Felix Grundy Days. Motion carried unanimously.

The following individuals were recognized for their service with Grundy County.

Harlyn Riekena received his 20 Year Service Award - Weed Commissioner.

Cole Anderson received his 20 Year Service Award - Conservation.

William Beyer received his 10 Year Service Award - Veterans Affairs.

Justin Fox - 5 Year Service Award - Sheriff's Office.

Gary Heronimus - 5 Year Service Award - Board of Review.

Updates on various board and committee meetings were given.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Nederhoff to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Barbara L. Smith, Chairperson

Alan T. Tscherter, County Auditor